Life, Wordsworth and Dances with the Daffodils

On the 5th May we celebrated my move back to Britain to start a new life with Joe – what a year it’s been.  We’ve done so much in that year, lots of mini breaks all over Britain and a trip to Paris.  In March we went back to Australia for three weeks.  It was an emotional journey seeing all the family, especially my two little granddaughters.   I said goodbye to my townhouse which has been Henry and I’s home for almost five years.  This time I was definitely a visitor.

DSC_0231We celebrated our one year anniversary in the old fortified town of Tenby in West Wales.  As a child I spent many holidays there with my family before we emigrated to Australia.  The trip to Tenby gave us both time to reflect and to recharge our batteries.

During our stay we took a boat over to Caldey Island owned by the Cistercian Monks.  Walking through the woods amongst the wild garlic, one could not help but feel a real sense of tranquility, our souls having already been soothed by the melodious chanting of the Island’s  hard-working inhabitants.  As we meandered along the path DSC_0178 the warmth of the sun made its way through the trees, the white flowers of the garlic waltzing to the rhythm of the breeze.  I’m at my happiest during moments like this; taking in all that nature has to offer.  I can understand why people like Wordsworth and other great poets were often inspired to write from their rendezvous with mother nature.  The wild garlic reminded me of the daffodils in Wordsworth’s poem.

Writing, including blogging has taken a back seat this year.  I’ve been concentrating more on photography and am waiting in quiet anticipation for the arrival of two new lenses. Sometimes I beat myself up because I don’t commit to writing.  I have this idea for a book but after 6,000 words, the book has ground to a halt.  I keep telling myself that I don’t have an ending so how can I write the book!  Excuses are just that, excuses.

Just recently a fellow blogger came across my blog when he stumbled on my post Dancing with Daffodils.  Matthew has just written his first novel Dances with the Daffodils which is due for release in paperback on 18 June.  When I asked Matthew how long it had taken him to write his book I was surprised at his answer.  He told me that it had taken far too long – years.  He said that he had often felt overwhelmed and fearful.  Even now he feels angry at times for all the wasted years.  I can’t say that I’ve  felt anger but I have definitely felt overwhelmed and fearful.  For me, it was reassuring to know that even people trained in telling real life stories have the same fears and anxieties as so many of us who desire to write.  What are your fears and anxieties about writing?  What holds you back?  Do you fear not being good enough?

If you love Wordsworth’s poetry (and even if you don’t) then take a look at Matthew’s website to read about his novel set in the Lake District at the time Wordsworth was writing his poetry.  This definitely sounds like a good read.

This entry was posted in Journal, Photography, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life, Wordsworth and Dances with the Daffodils

  1. foroneplease says:

    A year, wow, hugz :)

  2. Congratulations on your first year anniversary honey! :)

    Xx

  3. Athena Brady says:

    Congrats on your anniversary, lovely to see you back blogging again.As you know I only live an hour from Tenby and I have visted Caldy Island twice. I met an amazing monk there and we chatted for about 30 minutes, he told me a tale about buying a preganct goat in India that was being mistreated. Ihave ben writing ” Broken” for many years now and it is nearly complete. I think when the work s personal and precious to us sometimes we fear letting it go. Good luck with your book and welcome back, we have missed you.

    • Thank you Tina. We wandered off away from the tourist part of Caldey. To hear the chant of the monks was uplifting and then to walk through the serenity of the woods amongst all the wild flowers topped off what had already been a perfect day. I’ll look forward to seeing your book published. Take care. Teresa :)

  4. Congrats! Time demands keep me from staying on top of your blog as much as I’d like. Stick with the writing. The first book is the hardest because you have no idea what you’re doing. The more you write, the easier it gets–sorta! Good luck!

  5. Enjoy being home again… and congratulations on your anniversary… keep up the good work…

your thoughts

